Oh Dear !

party

My daughter and I work for the same company but on different sites. And Sunday evening was our combined Christmas party at a hotel nearby.

As I had decided to take my car I picked her up from home. As usual, at these events, there was to be a raffle and the prizes had been listed at work. 1st was some all-singing-all-dancing tv, second ipad , and so on and so on. As we drove there we both decided that neither of us wanted to win the TV, but she fancied winning some fancy gadget and me the ipad. No…neither of us wanted the TV.

So we ate our meal…her at one side of the hall and me at the other (with our colleagues) then the raffle was drawn.

Anticipation and hopefulness filled the room.

“So ladies and gentleman, the raffle first prize , the TV, goes to number …” and I heard a scream and an excited figure skipping to the front. not having my distance glasses on I was ignorant until my table mates began to say “Isn’t that your daughter?”.

And it was.

The mega TV . . .that neither of us were keen to win. . . but there it was. . . her’s!

Hundreds of £ worth of kit which is now taking pride of place in her living room.

She is now pleased but her fiancée is ecstatic !

3 thoughts on “Oh Dear !

  1. I just recently found your blog! You are funny! Sounds like a great Christmas party – mine is this Friday and we have to pay for our own drinks!

Leave a Reply

